Camping: Difference between revisions
Add verified Forever maintenance notice, Hall loot, campfire records and source annotations |
Update sourced Forever launch notices, camping and quest reward references |
||
| Line 3: | Line 3: | ||
|game_version=Announcement, preview and beta recipe references (2026-09) | |game_version=Announcement, preview and beta recipe references (2026-09) | ||
|verification_status=Source checked | |verification_status=Source checked | ||
|reviewed_on=2026-10- | |reviewed_on=2026-10-23 | ||
}} | }} | ||
<div class="fw-notice">'''Campfire references updated 1 October 2026.''' Earlier announcements and recipe records retain their original dates. The new kit references distinguish use requirements from Blueprint requirements; placement and runtime effects still need recorded Forever client tests.</div> | <div class="fw-notice">'''Campfire references updated 1 October 2026.''' Earlier announcements and recipe records retain their original dates. The new kit references distinguish use requirements from Blueprint requirements; placement and runtime effects still need recorded Forever client tests.</div> | ||
| Line 14: | Line 14: | ||
</div> | </div> | ||
== October 21 official clarification == | |||
Blizzard says sitting or crafting for at least '''one minute''' grants campsite benefits. Its examples below require profession skill '''20'''; the Basic Campfire requires Cooking '''1'''.<ref name="camp20261021">Blizzard Entertainment, [https://news.blizzard.com/en-us/article/24301516/gather-around-the-campfire-in-world-of-warcraft-forever Camping announcement], published 21 October 2026; English original checked 23 October. Publication guidance, not an identified-build test.</ref> | |||
{| class="wikitable fw-data-table" | |||
! Profession !! Feature !! Published benefit !! Exclusive class buff | |||
|- | |||
| Blacksmithing || Sharpening Wheel || Strength 6–34 || Strength of Earth Totem | |||
|- | |||
| Fishing || Fishing Bowl || All stats +8% || Blessing of Kings | |||
|- | |||
| Skinning || [[Camp Chair]] || Spell/attack critical chance +2% || Moonkin Aura | |||
|- | |||
| First Aid || First Aid Kit || Stamina 3–56 || Power Word: Fortitude | |||
|- | |||
| Herbalism || Incense Candle || Intellect 2–25 || Arcane Intellect | |||
|- | |||
| Tailoring || Faction Banner || Spirit 14–32 || Divine Spirit | |||
|} | |||
Ranges depend on level; equivalent class buffs are mutually exclusive.<ref name="camp20261021" /> | |||
The Strength entry differs from the earlier Attack Power preview below. That preview remains historical. The announcement also describes skill-140-or-higher campsite items as dungeon/raid drops; it names no particular drop source.<ref name="camp20261021" /> | |||
== Announced rules == | == Announced rules == | ||
| Line 31: | Line 53: | ||
These rules are covered by Blizzard's recap and Crix's Camping guide.<ref name="deep" /><ref name="camp">Crix, [https://www.icy-veins.com/wow-forever/camping Warcraft Forever Camping System Guide], Icy Veins. Header updated 15 September 2026, 20:00; timezone not specified. Changelog records first publication on 14 September. Read in full and rechecked against source searches on 17 September 2026. Community reporting of announcements and the BlizzCon preview, not an exact numbered beta build.</ref> | These rules are covered by Blizzard's recap and Crix's Camping guide.<ref name="deep" /><ref name="camp">Crix, [https://www.icy-veins.com/wow-forever/camping Warcraft Forever Camping System Guide], Icy Veins. Header updated 15 September 2026, 20:00; timezone not specified. Changelog records first publication on 14 September. Read in full and rechecked against source searches on 17 September 2026. Community reporting of announcements and the BlizzCon preview, not an exact numbered beta build.</ref> | ||
== | == Earlier preview profession contributions == | ||
<div class="fw-query-table"> | <div class="fw-query-table"> | ||
{| class="wikitable fw-data-table" | {| class="wikitable fw-data-table" | ||
Latest revision as of 00:03, 23 October 2026
Camping creates shared outdoor rest stops around a Basic Campfire.[1]

October 21 official clarification
Blizzard says sitting or crafting for at least one minute grants campsite benefits. Its examples below require profession skill 20; the Basic Campfire requires Cooking 1.[2]
| Profession | Feature | Published benefit | Exclusive class buff |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blacksmithing | Sharpening Wheel | Strength 6–34 | Strength of Earth Totem |
| Fishing | Fishing Bowl | All stats +8% | Blessing of Kings |
| Skinning | Camp Chair | Spell/attack critical chance +2% | Moonkin Aura |
| First Aid | First Aid Kit | Stamina 3–56 | Power Word: Fortitude |
| Herbalism | Incense Candle | Intellect 2–25 | Arcane Intellect |
| Tailoring | Faction Banner | Spirit 14–32 | Divine Spirit |
Ranges depend on level; equivalent class buffs are mutually exclusive.[2]
The Strength entry differs from the earlier Attack Power preview below. That preview remains historical. The announcement also describes skill-140-or-higher campsite items as dungeon/raid drops; it names no particular drop source.[2]
Announced rules
| Feature | Announced behavior |
|---|---|
| Capacity | Basic: 3 objects; Cooking upgrades: 5 or 10. |
| Contribution | One object per player; shared one-hour object cooldown. |
| Benefits | Rest while seated for one-hour buffs. Equivalent class buffs do not stack. |
| First unlock | Profession skill 20, through introductory NPCs or trainers. |
These rules are covered by Blizzard's recap and Crix's Camping guide.[1][3]
Earlier preview profession contributions
| Profession | Object | Reported purpose |
|---|---|---|
| Blacksmithing | Sharpening Wheel | Attack Power |
| Tailoring | Faction Banner | Spirit |
| Herbalism | Incense Candle | Intellect |
| Alchemy | Alchemy Lab | Profession workspace |
| Leatherworking | Tanning Rack | Advanced recipe requirement |
| Cooking | Upgraded campfires | Larger camps |
The table records preview object names and purposes.[3] The beta recipe references below are separate evidence for crafting materials; they do not confirm those announced effects in play.
Beta crafting references
Open a recipe for its materials, result identifier, recorded build and evidence limits. The recipe catalogue also groups records by profession.
- Campfires: Basic, Journeyman and Expert. The Cooking comparison separates finished-kit requirements from Blueprint requirements and explains conflicting guide values.
- Seating and shelter: Camp Chair and Camp Tent.
- Workspaces: Alchemy Laboratory, Anvil, Arcane Salvager and Anarchist's Workbench.
- Other campsite records: Sharpening Wheel, Enchanted Lute, Mana Well, Reagent Bot, Incense Candle and Fish Bowl.
These links are a reference to inspected records, not a complete list of usable fixtures. A yellow or grey skill-up threshold does not establish when a recipe can be learned. Check the individual evidence before buying materials or planning a profession route.
For recorded use effects, see Camp Chair, Camp Tent, Alchemy Laboratory, Anvil, Enchanted Lute, Mana Well and Reagent Bot. Their item references separate readable beta descriptions from unresolved values and still-unverified behavior.
Blacksmithing preview progression
Crix reports this sequence from the BlizzCon demonstration.[3]
| Skill shown | Object shown |
|---|---|
| 20 | Sharpening Wheel |
| 140 | Anvil |
| 300 | Master Forge |
These are reported preview unlocks. They do not supply recipe costs, trainer locations, Blueprint sources, or measured functionality for the later objects. See Blacksmithing before using this as a progression checklist.
Food at camp
For the three campfire kits' displayed use timer and cooldown, see Basic Campfire Kit, Journeyman Campfire Kit and Expert Campfire Kit. Their item records are separate from the crafting spell's cast time and the cooldown of a contributed feature.
Crix's demo food example combines Intellect with 5% kill experience.[3] Do not generalize one reported food to every recipe or use its eating time as a camp-rest timer. Cooking covers the wider profession context.
Placement and replacement
Josh Greenfield said camps cannot generally be placed in cities or too close together; nearby camps produce a notification buff. A stronger fixture replaces a weaker equivalent. He tentatively recalled a roughly ten-minute lifetime for campfires and fixtures.[4]
The interview does not establish an exact minimum spacing distance. Treat the recalled lifetime as a test target, rather than a dependable timer for a planned stop.
Planning a group stop
- Before leaving, compare the campfire and object recipes your group has actually learned. Assign different contributors to the objects you want to test.
- Choose an outdoor stop and inspect the placement controls. Capture a refusal message, if shown, with the zone and nearby landmarks.
- Add one object at a time and identify the resulting service or buff. Record the object owner and any cooldown message.
- Sit down and watch for the rest benefit. Record the elapsed time rather than assuming an eating timer also governs camp rest.
- Check the benefit before leaving, including its duration and any matching class buff already active.
For a useful test, record the camp type, contributor, object, and resulting buff or service. Check one interaction at a time: for example, compare the displayed buff before and after applying the corresponding class effect. Include both screenshots and the build number in the report.
Legacy references
The following descriptions are paraphrased from the wiki's 16 September Talents Forever snapshot, with its original limitations retained.[5]
| Perk | Recorded camping interaction |
|---|---|
| Field Guide | 8% shorter cooldown for adding camp features. |
| Permanence | Camp-rest benefits last 50% longer. |
| Reagent Economy | Tier 1 camping features require no crafting reagents. |
The export does not identify a rank for the first two descriptions. These effects are test targets, not permission to extrapolate every rank, remove all crafting costs, or calculate a guaranteed combined cooldown.
Common questions
- Which profession reference should I open first?
- Start with the Professions index, then compare your learned recipes with the contribution table above.
- Should everyone add the same stat benefit?
- Check the recorded buff and the group's class coverage first. The announced non-stacking rule above makes this a choice to investigate before spending materials.
- What if I only want to use someone else's camp?
- Inspect its available interactions and record what your character can use. Public-use permissions and any access refusal should be captured under the actual conditions; this guide does not invent a universal access rule.
- Can I prepare a shopping list now?
- The linked recipe records provide material quantities for specific crafts. First verify that your character can learn the recipe in the current build; the recorded inputs alone do not establish availability or the number of items produced.
Still to document
The wiki needs in-game confirmation of the recorded material costs, exact Blueprint names and sources, placement restrictions, and timed observations of rest and cooldown behavior. A failed placement or unavailable recipe is useful evidence when its conditions are recorded.
Evidence still needed
Camp placement refusal messages and minimum spacing; Timed campfire and fixture lifetime; Exact Blueprint names and acquisition sources; Fixture replacement and class-buff interaction tests
Record the Forever build, observation date, and a source or screenshot. Update the article and remove only the tasks your evidence resolves.
Sources
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Blizzard Entertainment, Deep Dive panel recap, 13 September 2026. Source rechecked 17 September 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 Blizzard Entertainment, Camping announcement, published 21 October 2026; English original checked 23 October. Publication guidance, not an identified-build test.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Crix, Warcraft Forever Camping System Guide, Icy Veins. Header updated 15 September 2026, 20:00; timezone not specified. Changelog records first publication on 14 September. Read in full and rechecked against source searches on 17 September 2026. Community reporting of announcements and the BlizzCon preview, not an exact numbered beta build.
- ↑ Robin Baird, Campsites, Horizontal Progression, and More, MMORPG.com, 15 September 2026. Interview with Josh Greenfield and Jeff Parrott; accessed 17 September 2026.
- ↑ Chris Baldwin, Talents Forever: Legacy and its JSON export, snapshot 16 September 2026, CC BY 4.0. Descriptions adapted and shortened; Blizzard owns the game names and tooltip text. Community transcription of the BlizzCon 2026 demo; no exact client build supplied.